Buena Vista City Council

Bill Fitzgerald

William "Billy" Fitzgerald


Mr. Fitzgerald was elected to Council in 2015 and elected Mayor in 2017. Previously, he served on the School Board. A native of southwest Virginia, he has lived in Buena Vista since 1987 and operates a contracting and fine woodworking business. He also has leadership roles in the Buena Vista Lions Club and Buena Vista Youth First. He has two grown sons, Billy and Jessie, who also live in the City. Mr. Fitzgerald can also be reached at (540) 461-0099.

Tyson Cooper

Tyson Cooper

Vice Mayor

Mr. Cooper was elected to Council in 2017. Previously, he served on the City’s Planning Commission and Economic Development Authority. Mr. Cooper, who also serves on the board of the local Chamber of Commerce, is a graduate of Southern Virginia University and Liberty University. He currently works at Southern Virginia University as the executive director of housing and financial services. He and his wife, Camden, stay busy raising their six children.

Steve Baldridge

Steve Baldridge


Mr. Baldridge was elected to Council in 2011, and previously served on the School Board. He is an adjunct professor and Pre-law advisor at SVU and is the managing partner of Jones & Baldridge LLP. He received his Bachelors from Washington & Lee University, and his JD and PhD in Educational Leadership from Brigham Young University. He and his wife Miyoko have three children.


Lisa Clark


Mrs. Clark was elected to Council in 2012. She stays busy as the Principal of F. W. Kling Elementary School in Buena Vista. Mrs. Clark received her Doctorate in Educational Leadership from Liberty University. She and her husband Troy have two children.


Stanley Coffey


Mr. Coffey was appointed to Council in 2018.


Melvin Henson


Mr. Henson was elected to Council in 2010. Previously, he served as Director of Public Works for the City, and has been heavily involved with the Buena Vista Fire Department for over 45 years. Mr. Henson also serves on the Planning Commission.


Danny Staton


Mr. Staton was elected to Council in 2017.